You are seeing this text because you either do not have javascript enabled, or your flash player is out of date. Please check your javascript settings, or update your flash player.
Click here to download flash player.

Activities

There are plenty of outdoor activities in the area around St Cuthberts as follows:

Fishing

There is direct access to the River Tweed from the house which is 10 minutes or a couple of minutes by car. All fishing is pre-bookable via the Fish Tweed website.  Please refer to this site for Tweed specific information including the booking conditions.
Coarse fishing – www.conundrumfarm.co.uk/fishery

Walking

St Cuthberts is located amid 600 acres of farmland which guests are invited to enjoy.  Visitors are asked to respect the fact that fishermen will be along the river throughout the day and be aware when walking alongside the river.  There are endless walks to be enjoyed in the area around St Cuthberts, from the beaches of Bamburgh and Cocklawburn at Scremerston to the Cheviot Hills, the Penine Way, St Cuthberts Way and so on.  There is a mounted Ordinance Survey map of the direct surroundings in the house, but guests are advised to obtain their own maps prior to visiting.   

Golf

This area is a golfer’s paradise, whatever your level.  The courses in close proximity include;

The Hirsel often called “The Augusta of the Borders” – Coldstream, 3 miles
The Roxburghe - Kelso, 12 miles
Goswick - south of Berwick-Upon-Tweed, 13 miles
Eyemouth - north of Berwick-Upon-Tweed, 14 miles

Further afield, up to approximately one hour’s drive away, are the courses of East Lothian, notably North Berwick, Gullane, Muirfield and Luffness. 

If you are planning a serious golfing break, you would do well to purchase a Freedom of the Fairways pass, which allows you to play nearly all courses in the Borders, at a reduced price. 

Places of interest

Farne Islands – www.farne-islands.com
Heatherslaw Mill – www.ford-and-etal.co.uk
Holy Island - www.lindisfarne.org.uk
Lindisfarne - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-vh/w-visits/w-findaplace/w-lindisfarnecastle
Check the tides for Lindisfarne - www.holy-island.info/lindisfarnecastle/2007 or look at the local newspaper
Manderston House – www.manderston.co.uk
Paxton House – www.paxtonhouse.co.uk
Mellerstain House - www.discovertheborders.co.uk/places/62.html
Abbotsford - www.scottsabbotsford.co.uk

Castles at
Alnwick Castle – www.alnwickcastle.com and Alnwick Garden www.alnwickgarden.com/
Chillingham Castle - www.chillingham-castle.com
Bamburgh Castle - www.bamburghcastle.com
Norham Castle - www.holy-island.info/englishheritage/norhamcastle
Floors Castle - www.roxburghe.bordernet.co.uk/floors

Tourist Boards

Scottish Borders - www.discovertheborders.co.uk
Northumberland - www.northumberland.gov.uk
North East England - www.visitnortheastengland.com
Berwick-Upon-Tweed - www.exploreberwick.co.uk

For children

St Cuthberts is the perfect base for families both with younger and older children, you can read more on our families page.

Shooting

Sporting Agent – www.hotbarrels.com
We would be delighted to make further shooting recommendations if you contact us by phone or email.

Horse riding

Kimmerston (including beach and hill rides) – www.kimmerston.com

Birds and wildlife

www.northumberland.gov.uk/vg/wildlife.html